Giving Back

e963_n00b

I’ve worked in the IT field since 1991, and in that time I’ve learned a LOT from other people.  People who were willing to share their experience, knowledge and skills with me to help me progress in my career and improve my skills.  I’ve been the n00b (a.k.a. the FNG) so I know what it feels like to not know anything when surrounded by people who know a whole lot more than me.  I was always very grateful to more senior technologists for helping me learn new ways of doing things or turning me on to new stuff.

I want to be able to give back to the community in the same ways that those guru’s gave to me when I was still in the early stages of my career.  That’s the main intent of this blog- to give back and help others grow as I did and continue to do to this day.  I’ll be posting a lot of how-to’s as well as general observations on different things.  I don’t claim to be the ultimate authority on any specific subject, so there may be mistakes from time to time which I encourage you to call me out on.  Hopefully at least one person can benefit from what I’ll be sharing.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to benefit from your comments as well!

Leave a Reply

